A Bittersweet Reality Check

I feel like I’ve not done a post like this in ages. One where I just sit down and kind of pour my thoughts and feelings out on the screen. But today is one of those days where this is what I want to do.

I’ve been at home for a month now, and, don’t get me wrong, I’m loving being able to spend quality time with my family and my friends from home. I love being with my parents and sisters; being able to earn money that I can spend on little treats, (without having to constantly rely on my student loan); having get-togethers with my friends just because; volunteering; seeing extended family members; not having to do absolutely everything for myself… and I could go on! There are so many reasons why I am glad to be home.

However, I am now starting to really miss uni. I miss being with my friends 24/7, I miss my complete independence, I miss the whole atmosphere of uni. Many friends of mine are still at uni, and I think it is seeing everyone’s photos on social media of all the balls and exciting events they are attending that are making me miss uni life even more. We didn’t have any end-of-year balls or celebrations, however, I don’t really mind, I just wish I’d been able to stay at uni with my friends a little longer after the year had finished.

This week I have been able to spend a bit of time with my best friend, Catherine, who also goes to Hope. It’s been so lovely that spend time with her, however the fact that we have to say goodbye is so horrible – especially after living in halls together for the last seven months and never really having to say goodbye ‘properly’ (for more than a few hours or a weekend anyway!)

So yeah, that’s where I’m at right now… To summarise – I’m absolutely loving being at home, however I’m really starting to miss uni and my friends now. I guess “bittersweet” would be a perfect summary of how I’m feeling!

I’m going on holiday later this week, so I’m hoping that a couple of weeks in the sunshine will do me good, and I’ll come back feeling refreshed and relaxed.

Until next time,

474722966523119291216

 

2 thoughts on “A Bittersweet Reality Check

  1. PippaPosts says:

    I totally know the feeling! I’ve been living back at home after uni for just over a year. It definitely has it’s perks but there are some cons too, but it’s good to know you aren’t the only one feeling this way, and it will get better! 💖

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

