‘Most Girls’

As I was in the gym a few weeks ago, I came across a song that I’d never head before. It was by Hailee Steinfeld, and is called ‘Most Girls’. At first, I really enjoyed the catchy tune and so was singing along (at a later listening, not while working out!!!!) until I suddenly realised the words I was singing.

I’ve seen a few people comment on it being a great female power anthem. And for the majority, I’d say it is. It says how girls should be proud of who they are, however there are a few things she mentions that I wanted to comment on. I know from personal experience that us girls can often be easily influenced by society and how society believes we should be.

(By the way, if you haven’t heard the song, you can listen to it here so you know what I’m on about!)

Most girls are smart and strong and beautiful”

This is probably my biggest issue with the song. Most girls? What about the rest of the girls? Are they not? And I would love to know what makes girls “smart and strong and beautiful” and who decides whether we are these things or not.

I believe that every girl is smart and strong and beautiful. We don’t all look the same, our strengths lie in different things, and we are smart in our own right. Part of what makes us who we are, are the things that make us different.

Some days you feel so good in your own skin”

This is something that I kind of agree with. I have mentioned before that I have really struggled with self-confidence in the past, and having a positive body image is still my biggest struggle. Combine this with the rollercoaster of emotions that us girls go through in your average week, and this can be a very tricky combination to deal with.

So I can totally relate to this lyric. Some days, I feel confident, beautiful, I feel like I can do anything. But on another day, I could be wearing the exact same outfit yet feel like a potato, and have a very low body image.

“Some days” I do feel “so good” in my skin, and other days I don’t. But the most important thing is to know that this is normal. BUT if you find yourself having more bad days than good, do make sure you talk to someone.

“But its okay if you wanna change the body that you came in”

I have to admit, I am a little hesitant with this one. I think this is partly because I love wearing makeup, straightening my hair and painting my nails. These are all things that I do to accentuate my features, not to change the way I look.

My personal belief is that God has made each of us perfectly, and so I should try to accept myself for what I look like. This sounds so much simpler than it actually is, but when I put makeup on, I only do it to accentuate what I already have. I don’t try to make myself look like someone else, or to hide any of my features (except the bags under my eyes, but they don’t count!!!).

I think it can be incredibly unhealthy for us to want to “change” our bodies. Whether this be extreme dieting or whatever it may be, I think it is really important for us women to accept ourselves, and to realise that we haven’t been made how we are by accident!

However, I encourage you, if you believe your body needs “changing” for medical reasons, speak to your GP or another professional who can help.

“Cause you look greatest when you feel like a queen”

I thought this would be a good one to finish the post with.

Again this is linked to the post I did about confidence. When you “feel like a queen”, you will look even greater! Confidence does wonders, even if you’re just faking it. So next time you have a low body image (and I’m going to take my own advice here as well!), look yourself in the eyes in the mirror and remind yourself that you are beautiful, you are smart, you are strong, and you are much more besides.

I guess what I’m trying to say with this post, is that it is okay to be who we are. Being like “most girls” shouldn’t necessarily be something we aspire to. I don’t know about you, but although it can be good to have admiration for women who live their lives in a way we aspire to, there is an incredibly fine line between admiring someone and wanting to be exactly like them. We have all been made as unique individuals and so we should want to be exactly like ourselves, not anyone else!

I also don’t think that there is a category of “most girls” – we are all different and special the way we are. None of us are the same, and this is something we should embrace. So don’t try to be like “most girls”, be you instead!

I would also like to stress that there are many more things in life that are more important than your appearance. So please remember, you are worth so much more than just your appearance – in fact, it is more important for us to be beautiful on the inside, not just the outside!

I would love to know what you thought of the song, so please let me know your opinions in the comments!

So, until next time, keep reminding yourself of how beautiful you are! Because you are!

474722966523119291216

Leave a Reply

