Friday Faves #12

So Lent Term is over! Its crazy that my first year at university is almost over. they say that time flies when you’re having fun and that is so true! This year seems to have flown by and I cant believe that I’m on the final stretch now with a lovely four month summer in sight – not long to go now!

With finishing all my uni assignments last week, I have been making the most of this last week of term by spending lots of time with my friends and I seem to have eaten out quite a bit. This week’s ‘Friday Faves’ will be heavily food-based so grab a snack and let’s get cracking!

Mother’s Day Weekend

Last Friday evening I took the train home and surprised my Mum by turning up on the doorstep when she didn’t know I was coming home! My Dad and I had planned it months ago but I was so excited to finally be able to pull it off. I absolutely loved being able to spend time with her and showing her just how much I love her. We managed to fit so much in over the weekend and I had a really lovely time. On Saturday evening, we went out for a family meal to a little Italian restaurant near our house and I enjoyed my meal of pollo alla crema with chips and veg. It was absolutely delicious and we were all so full that we could hardly walk home!

My favourite part of the weekend, however, was Monday lunchtime. For my present to my Mum (as well as my presence being a present, of course!), I took her for brunch at The Tavern Company, a café/restaurant near uni. I’d never been before, but my friend Catherine has been raving about it all year. And I cant believe that its taken me this long to go! It is absolutely amazing! They had a special gluten-free menu which had loads of choice, so both Mum and I were able to enjoy a full English breakfast each! The Tavern also offers free tea and coffee with every breakfast, so the waiting staff seemed always on hand with refills. It was a delicious meal and a lovely atmosphere – I would highly recommend The Tavern to anyone who may find themselves in Liverpool!

Celebratory End of Term Meal

On Monday evening, myself, Amy and both Emilys went out for a meal to celebrate the end of Lent Term (Catherine was unfortunately unable to join us because of other commitments). Although we only went to Wetherspoons, it was nice for us all to relax and enjoy a bit of time together before we are separated for the best part of a month! Wetherspoons is pretty good for those with food sensitivities – they have separate menus for those who are vegetarian, vegan, dairy-free and gluten-free. I chose to have chicken tikka masala and I really enjoyed it. In the past, whenever I ate out, I would tend to order food that was served with chips, however, stepping out my comfort zone and trying something different was worth it as the curry was lovely.

Lauren’s Birthday Celebrations

In my wider friendship group from halls, a couple of the girls have their birthdays during the Easter holidays and so last night we went out for a meal at TriBeCa to celebrate Lauren’s 22nd birthday. It was really nice to go out and have a nice meal and a couple of drinks with some of the girls.

I ordered a gluten-free Kiev calzone which contained cheese, chicken, ham and garlic. However, due to the nature of the gluten-free pizza bases, they had to make it into an actual pizza instead of a calzone. Although the flavours were great and I did enjoy it, I found the pizza base was way too hard and so it was quite difficult to eat. It was also quite dry – I could have really done with some mayo with it!!!!! Despite this, I did like it anyway and I still had a nice time!

And so another week is over! I feel like I’ve eaten out so much this week and unfortunately I haven’t even had chance to go to the gym to make up for it! Hopefully all my walking around Rome next week will make up for it!

Have a great week,

474722966523119291216

 

Leave a Reply

