“Fake it ’till you make it”

Hello!

I just wanted to write a quick little post today about something that I feel passionately about. I think it’s a challenge that we all face, but one of those that no one really likes to talk about.

I want to talk about confidence.

In all honesty, I’m not very good at it. I’ve never had a lot of belief in myself, however at times, this caused me a lot of problems. I used to doubt my own abilities a lot and I was always conscious about what other people might think of me.

Looking back, it seems ridiculous how self-conscious I used to be, but it was quite a long process for me to be where I am today. Even though I am nowhere near as bad as I used to be, I still have my days where I feel very self-conscious. However, after many years of practice, I have perfected a technique to help myself. I wanted to share it on here, and hopefully someone else might find it useful!

“Fake it ’till you make it!”

In terms of my confidence, this is the motto I live by.

Its really simple. If you are lacking in self-confidence, pretend you’re not. Pretend that you are. Practice your acting abilities! Obviously, there is a fine line between going over the top with it, but I’m sure you’ll know in yourself what this line is for you.

I’ve found that the longer I fake my confidence for, the more I start to believe it myself. Not only does it seem to other people that I am confident, I feel it more in myself. This doesn’t come straight away, but you’ve just got to keep practising!

I speak from experience – becoming confident in yourself is really hard. I’m not quite there just yet but I’m like a different person to the one I was a couple of years ago.

So, that’s it!

That little motto has worked wonders for me, and I hope it does for you too!

Until next time,

474722966523119291216

Leave a Reply

