Friday Faves #5

Hello!

This week has been a fairly quiet one on the whole – with seven assignments due in within the next six weeks, I’ve spent a lot of time trying to do as much work as I can before the deadlines start approaching faster than they are already! You may notice me going a bit quieter over here, but don’t worry – once assignments and exams etc are over, I’ll be back to normal service! I’m going to try and make sure I keep posting regularly by scheduling posts when I have chance, but we’ll see how it goes!

So, on to my highlights of this week!

First Roast Dinner of the term

Last term, my friends and I made a roast chicken dinner almost every Sunday. It was a great way for us to not only have some nice food, but also to spend time together while we cooked and then ate it together. However, so far this term we hadn’t had chance to make one due to people having loads of work, placements and being away. Last Sunday we finally made our roast dinner again. It tasted amazing and it was so nice to sit down with the girls and enjoy our lunch! Really hoping we’re able to make it a regular thing again this term.

 

img_1894

Definitely not the best quality photo I’ve ever taken, but it was a great roast!

 

Homeless Mission Night

I’ve already talked a lot about it in this post but as it was one of the highlights of my week, I still have to mention it here! I really enjoyed trying to bring some comfort to the homeless people we met throughout the night, and it was a very thought-provoking experience.

img_1933

‘Life & Soul’

This was a night of praise and worship, adoration and quiet time that was held in our Chapel at uni this week and was led by Animate, Liverpool Diocese’s youth ministry team. After a very busy start to the week (which I knew would lead to an even busier end of week), I really needed some time out to take a breather and just spend some time with God. So this night was exactly what I needed. It only lasted an hour but the time flew by and before I knew it, it was over!

When it had finished, a lot of people came over to the chaplaincy where we enjoyed pizza, chips, and the famous ginger cake! Quite a few students had come from the main Liverpool uni’s CathSoc and I enjoyed talking to them and getting to know them. As a small CathSoc, we are really keen on getting out there and building links with other universities so this was a great chance to start the links in Liverpool!

Getting work done

As I mentioned at the start, I have a lot of assignments due in soon and at times this week, I’ve felt quite overwhelmed by the sheer amount of work that I know needs doing, especially with the deadlines approaching fast and the fact I have plans for most weekends in the next month or so! So I was determined to get cracking and make a good start to the work. I’ve made my lists of what I need to do, borrowed a mountain of books from the library and am immersed in note-taking and planning. Even though I know how much I have to do, I realise that I need to look at it in bite-size portions to stop myself getting overwhelmed by it all. So, one thing at a time and I know it’ll all work out. I can do this!

 

img_1946401

A selection of the reading for one of my essays #lifeofalitstudent

 

This week has been so crazy and I’m really glad it’s over to be honest! Now I’m getting organised with my work, I feel like I’ll be able to be much more productive and will be able to get more use out of my time. I’m also going away this weekend to Youth 2000 in Leeds and I’m looking forward to taking some time out to refocus, get my priorities back in order and to hopefully catch up with friends.

Have a great weekend!

Until next time,

474722966523119291216

Leave a Reply

