Friday Faves #4

Hello!

Happy February!

As if I’ve been doing this feature for a month now – time flies when you’re having fun/a busy student – whichever way you want to look at it!

For February’s first Friday Faves (as an English student, I couldn’t resist a cheeky bit of alliteration!) I thought I’d just tell you a couple of things that have happened this week, but I might also set myself a couple of little challenges for February. Then, at the end of the month (only 25 days away now) we can have a little look back and see how I’ve done. Hope that sounds good to you, but I’m going to do it anyway! 😉

Feeling accomplished

I have been so motivated this week, and I haven’t even written to-do lists either so I’m extra proud of myself. Although the week has flown by, I feel like I’ve managed to get so much done. I spent a lovely weekend at home with my family, ending on Monday with some quality mother-daughter time which was fab. It feels like ages since me and Mum have had some time together, so I loved having that day just the two of us.

On the uni side of things, after realising the mountain of assignments I have coming up last week, I needed to get going with them this week. And so far, so good! I managed to complete my first of my upcoming assignments yesterday and so am hoping to get cracking with a couple of the others in the next week.

Another very little thing I’ve managed to do this week is to cook some meals in bulk. I wont mention the fact that this was actually kind of a portioning error rather than intentional…  But with assignment deadlines looming and then the beginning of revision for exams, having some healthy, homecooked meals in the freezer when I don’t have time to cook is going to be really handy!

img_1714

Phone Free February

(More alliteration again, I’ll pretend I’m sorry!)

I say “Phone Free February” but I’m not actually giving up my phone for the whole of this month, I really couldn’t manage that! However, I have noticed recently that I’m becoming increasingly dependent on my phone. I have to have it with me all the time or I feel nervous about going anywhere ‘on my own’ so to speak in case something should happen. I’ve also noticed that if I’m bored/anxious/feeling awkward/don’t know what to say/feeling shy/procrastinating etc. etc… then I tend to get my phone out and check Facebook, Instagram or some other form of social media. And I would much rather be spending this time with actual people than the internet. I would like to be more productive with my time, rather than just wasting it on my phone.

So after being inspired by a couple of posts from Jas (aka Thoughts from Jasmine) I decided that in February, I’m going to give up my phone for two hours a day (at least). And these aren’t going to be times when I wouldn’t usually go on it anyway, I’m going to turn my phone off and put it away for two hours when I would usually be using it. Instead of this, I’m going to be more intentional with my time. Whether this be doing uni work, blogging, or spending time talking face-to-face with people,  I want to achieve more with my time!

Obviously we’re only a couple of days into this month, but so far I have managed to do loads in the time where I would have usually just been sat on my phone not really doing anything. There’s something quite freeing about not always having your phone next to you, and not feeling the need to constantly check it.

Goals for February

  1. Carry on with “Phone Free February”
  2. Be brave – Have adventures, try new meals, speak to new people etc. Pretty simple really – I hope!
  3. Keep up the blog posts – At the beginning of this year, I said I wanted to blog every week, and I’ve been successful so far. Most weeks I’ve even managed to get two posts up which is a great feat for me compared to last year. So I hope I’m able to continue this regular posting throughout February (and beyond)!
  4. Stay organised – I would really like to stay on top or get ahead with my work, as well as the other mundane daily chores that sometimes get side-lined. I really want to make sure I’m organised by reading all the texts for my classes, as well as secondary reading and my assignments too.

img_1886

It’s going to be a busy month ahead, but I’m really looking forward to it. The end of this month and the beginning of March indicates the start of Spring and Lent which mean that nice weather and Easter are just around the corner!

I know that academically, February’s going to be a challenge, but I’ve got loads of fun things planned and to top it all off, my sister turns 18 in the middle of the month so I’m looking forward to hopefully going home and celebrating with her!

Do you have anything exciting planned for this month? I’d love to hear about it in the comments!

Until next time,

474722966523119291216

Leave a Reply

