Friday Faves #3

Hello!

I can’t believe another week has been and gone and here I am writing another Friday Faves post! It’s been a really good week and I’m rounding it off with going home for the weekend so it’ll be great to catch up with my family and just generally be at home for a couple of days.

So without further ado, here are my highlights of this week!

Getting Organised

I always say that I need to be more organised. Yet I sit here at my desk and don’t do anything about it. So this week, I decided to change all that. With a tonne of assignments due in over the next 8 weeks, I have been really trying to get sorted and ahead with these. I’ve taken a load of books out of the library, the research has begun and I’m getting well on the road with reading and note-taking. In all honesty, I’m pretty surprised that I’ve managed to keep this up even just this week. Now I’ve realised just how much work I have due in (especially with me filling the weekends beforehand up with adventures and visits home etc…) the motivation has really struck. If I want to maintain all the commitments I have at weekends, I’m going to have to really get cracking during the week – particularly on my days off!

Most helpful tip: I’ve made a to-do list for almost every day this week and that has worked wonders. Nothing motivates you quite like wanting to get things crossed off and when you’ve completed the list and can throw it away, that is THE best feeling.

 

img_1739

Trying to get ahead with some of my reading for an upcoming assignment

 

Clear Blood Test Results

So, last week I had to go to the doctors and he decided that I needed a couple of blood tests doing. As many of you might know, my Mum has Coeliac Disease (which can be genetic) so I was tested for both that and also to check my thyroid function. And both tests came back clear!

This may sound like a weird thing to be one of my highlights of the week, but having to have a Coeliac diet is really restrictive and can cause a lot of difficulties when we go out to eat, especially when chefs/restaurant staff don’t know what it is (gluten and wheat intolerance, by the way). So I can’t explain how relieved I am that I don’t have this condition, and I can continue living my life and no diet/lifestyle changes are needed.

 

IMG_1756.PNG

God gave me some beautiful sunshine on the way back from the doctors to celebrate the good news

 

Looking After Myself

Again, this is probably another odd thing to have made the list! But this week, I feel like I’ve done a pretty good job of looking after myself – both mentally and physically. I’ve had a couple of early(er) night, been to the gym four times since Saturday,  ate a portion of fruit and veg with every meal and have been drinking at least two litres of water every day. On my Fitbit, how far you walk, how many steps you take and how many flights of stairs you climb each day are tracked. So far, I’ve managed to hit most of my targets each day this week – for the first time I might add! My Fitbit must be thinking someone else is wearing it!!!

I’ve also made sure to take quite a bit of ‘me time’ whether it be watching a film in bed, playing my favourite music or arranging to catch up with a friend I’ve not seen in several months. I feel like writing my to-do list every morning is giving me motivation to work hard and make the most of each day. On the flip side though, I also love the days where I don’t make a list and just go with the flow. These days help me to relax and make sure I have time to chill during the day, as well as before going to sleep.

 

IMG_1753.JPG

 

And there we have it! This week’s Friday Faves all done. I hope you enjoyed hearing about a few of the things I’ve been up to this week.

I’d love to hear what your three highlights of this week have been so please leave a comment and let me know!

Until next time,

474722966523119291216

 

 

Leave a Reply

