“So how’s uni?”

Hello!

I’m back! I know, I know. I started a brand new blog and was so excited and enthused to really get it going… And then I neglect it for a month. Well done, Anna.

But hey, here I am! The first semester of uni is finished and I’m sat here at home feeling very Christmassy! So with the end of the term I thought I’d share my experience of uni life so far! Also, with seeing a lot of friends and family again after three months, everyone is asking me “How’s uni?” so I thought I’d answer it in more detail than I can in a quick conversation!!

It is so much fun. OH MY WORD. The fun we have is unreal! I can’t describe enough how much I love uni. As you probably know, I laugh so much and I feel like I spend most of my time at uni laughing, whether its quiet giggling in a seminar or hysterical, crying laughter with my friends in my room. I have never felt more relaxed or at home than I do with both the people and the environment.

Living in halls is the best! I can’t even describe how nervous I was to move in with 50 strangers and live with them for a year! But it’s been so much better, so much more fun than I expected so far! The girls on my floor especially are so lovely and we get on so well. In fact, it’s so weird to be at home: It seems so quiet without everyone! I’m just so glad to be living with such fab people this year!

 

img_0506

Austin Hall at our finest

 

I’ve made the most amazing friends in such a short space of time. My new friends are so fab! With a couple of them, we seemed to just ‘click’ immediately and have been almost inseparable ever since. I’ve found it amazing how I’ve made such incredibly deep friendships with people I’ve known for only three months! I’m so blessed to have met so many fab people (not only in halls but also my lectures/seminars and CathSoc etc)that I have loads in common with and get on with so well. I know that we’re going to have an awesome three years together!

 

IMG_1053.JPG

My best uni friends (just missing Catherine)

 

My new-found freedom is my favourite part of being at uni! As much as I do find it weird being without my immediate family 24/7, we message all the time so I don’t really miss them because of this! I love WhatsApp! I have come home a couple of times, but I’ve also spent a weekend at the Celebrate Conference in Bristol and also staying at my friend Nisha’s in Birmingham for the CaSSU weekend. This last weekend I also travelled up to Whitehaven for my good friend Beth’s 18th which was so much fun and I especially loved being able to catch up with my Lourdes/World Youth Day friends! I’m loving the independence I have and being able to travel around the country and spend time with friends. I’ve developed a new love for trains because of all this!!!!

Cooking is my favourite thing to do at uni! Yes, I really enjoyed cooking before uni, but now it’s not just a necessity that I have to do so I don’t starve! I just find it so relaxing, enjoyable, and obviously the eating part is pretty nice too! On a side note, apologies to all my contacts on Snapchat for the never-ending snaps of the food I’d cooked in my first few weeks! Cooking has also been a great way for us to bond: my friends and I cook for each other throughout the week and we also cook Sunday lunch together each weekend. I’m looking forward to going back after Christmas with hopefully some new recipes for us to try.

Uni is making me realise how much my parents do! When people often complain about there not being enough hours in the day, I never understood why. Until I started uni! And now I have no idea how people manage to fit so much into a day! Getting up and showered, going to lectures/seminars/tutorials, doing work, making tea, washing up, doing clothes washing, more work, attempting to be sociable, and then trying to get a good night’s sleep before the next day is quite a challenge! Mum and Dad, I don’t know how you do it! Thank you!!

 

img_1019

My superhuman parents

 

Oh, my courses? They’re pretty good too! I’m only joking, I love both the literature and creative writing aspects of my degree and am really enjoying both! The people in my classes are so lovely and we are able to bounce ideas off each other in seminars etc really well! I feel like I’ve learnt so much already and I can’t wait to see what else we learn over the next two and a half years. I’ve had quite a few assignments to do for both subjects over the past couple of months, however although I stress over them at the time I would rather have assignments and one exam in summer rather than many exams!

So, there we have it! That’s how uni is going! If you can’t tell, I’m absolutely loving every minute of it. As corny as it may sound, I really feel like I’m in the right place, with the right people and if the next couple of years carry on in the same way as this semester has, I’m going to want to stay forever! I can honestly say that I’ve never been happier than I have been from the end of August until now so “thank you” to God for many answered prayers and “thank you” to everyone for all your support, it means so much to me.

Until next time,

Anna x

4 thoughts on ““So how’s uni?”

Leave a Reply

