Born to Write

Hello!

As I’m sure you’ve probably noticed by now, I am writing these blog posts in bulk! I want to have a few posts up here already so that when I finally share this blog on my social media sites, you readers will have a selection of posts to read rather than me just sharing a blank site! I’m so determined to make this blog a success!

So I thought I’d make this post quite a bit more personal than some of the other content I’ve produced. Maybe because its late and I’m getting tired, maybe its something I’ve wanted to share for a while. Maybe its Maybelline (shoutout to one of the guys in my creative writing tutorial for that line, it was too good not to nick!!) but whatever the reason, I want to share my passion for writing.

In one of our Creative Writing lectures recently, we discussed our reasons for writing and I found it so interesting to hear why other people write. Many people (not so much recently I have to add) seem to think that writing is just a hobby. Since I decided as a child that I wanted to be a writer, it has almost been drilled into me that you cant be just a writer. But I am determined that I will make a career out of this passion of mine!

I really feel that writing is my vocation. I truly believe that God has given me this passion for words and, dare I say talent for writing for a reason. Looking at a blank piece of paper – whether a physical form, a Word document or a blog post gives me such a buzz and I feel like things write themselves. When I’m writing, it seems that my writing writes itself. Quite often I look back at my work in disbelief that those words have actually come from me. Sometimes I’ll hit a brick wall and will feel so uninspired, but once I get in the flow I relax and the words pour out of me. I feel like I was born to do this.

I’ve always had a great fascination with words and writing. My Mum often tells people about when I was a toddler and would look at road signs on a walk. Even at a very young age I was able to identify the initials of my various family members. Since before I could properly read and write, I wanted to be a writer. Like I mentioned before, I just feel like this is what I am called to do. God has given me the ability to do something that I enjoy, and I plan to make the most of this talent.

My passion for writing also probably comes from the fact that I love to talk!! At first I think I often come across as reserved to people, however, when you get to know, I never shut up!! I guess writing is a way for me to carry on talking whenever I like without me getting too annoying!!

Writing gives me such a buzz. When I look at the blank sheet of paper, whether it be a physical piece of paper, a Word document or a blog post, I love looking at plain paper and then seeing it transform. Whether I cover it with my scrawls of blue and black ink or with a neat, typed font, I just love filling blank paper with my writing. It’s so satisfying!

Anyway, I could go on all day about how much I love writing. But I’ll save you that, you’d probably get bored after a while anyway!!

This post is definitely the most free piece of writing I have put online, and so I’ve decided that I’m not going to edit it at all. Please excuse any mistakes or anything. I know that if I edit it, I will end up taking a lot of the emotion out of it and I really don’t want to do that!

I hope you enjoyed this deeper reflection, and I’m sure I’ll be back again soon!

Much love,

Anna x

 

Leave a Reply

